Kane Williamson becomes 2nd captain to win player of the World Cup award: With his spectacular batting performance, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has become the second captain to win the player of the World Cup award. He achieved the feat after scoring 578 runs in the 10 matches of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. He has joined former captain of his team Martin Crowne who was named player of the tournament in 1992 World Cup.

The 28-year-old batsman guided New Zealand to the final of the ICC’s showpiece event. He led his team to victory in several matches and played a one-man show. He was awarded by former cricketer Sachin Tendulkar. However, New Zealand lost the second consecutive final in a super over on Sunday at Lord’s.

Eoin Morgan-led side lifted first-ever World Cup trophy after 44 years. In the past 12 editions, England made it to the finals several times but never won the title. With this win, England have joined five other nations who have won the tournament earlier. These are Australia, West Indies, Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan. Now, only New Zealand and another big cricketing nation South Africa are yet to win the title.

Australia have won the title for the record five times, Sri Lanka twice, West Indies twice, India and Pakistan each once. Kangaroos and India could make it to the finals after securing semi-final berths. The former were defeated by England and the latter by Kiwis. The Black Caps narrowly escaped World Cup exit after collecting 11 points in the league stage. Pakistan also had the same points but had to book their tickets to Islamabad as their net run-rate was low.


About the author

Abid Hussain

Solemn and grim but his killer smile takes no prisoners. Newshound with an unfortunate penchant for not seeing beyond the blinkers. Covers sports politics, world affairs with equal vim.