In a goal fest on Sunday, Russia pushed out Spain 4-3 in an exciting battle for a spot in the quarters of the FIFA World Cup 2018. The hosts defeated the La Roja and entered the quarter-finals. Both the teams played equally well but Russia won the game by a nose in the penalty shootout. In the 90-minutes of play, Russia and Spain were tied 1-1 and then the officials decided to go for a penalty shootout to get the match result.

The Spanish players started the game in an aggressive manner and were all around the field with the ball under their feet. But a watertight Russian defence avoided the opponent to put the ball in their nets.

The first goal of the match came in the 12th minute as Sergei Ignashevich scored a self-goal while grappling with Sergio Ramos. But the Russian side levelled the score in the 41st minute, when striker Artem Dzyuba scored a goal in the bottom corner of the goal post.

The 90-minute play resulted in a 1-1 draw and it was during the penalty shootout that Russia knocked down Spain by 4-3. The penalty shoot was full of drama, where both the teams and their fans were up on their toes to witness the result of the crucial game.

The first goal of the shootout was scored by Andres Iniesta for Spain. Jersey number 10, Fyodoe Smolov put the ball in the nets for Russia. Defender Gerard Pique scored the second one, while Sergei Ignashevish levelled it 2-2 for the hosts.

The climax came into the story when midfielder Koke missed the 3rd stroke and Aleksandr Golovin provided a lead to Russia.

However, Spanish skipper Sergio Ramos levelled the scores with the 4th shot. But a single mistake from the visitors handed over the driving seat to the hosts as Denis Cheryshev’s strike kept the home side in the lead. The last chance for Spain to stay in the game was missed by Lago Aspas, which resulted in a victory for Russia.

Russia’s long-serving goalkeeper Igor Akinfeev was the hero of the match, who saved 2 goals and led his team into the quarter-finals of FIFA World Cup 2018.


About the author

Gaurav Sharma