Defending champions Australia beat India 3-1 (penalty shootouts) to win its 15th Champions Trophy title on Sunday. In an enthralling encounter that was played at Breda in Netherlands, both sides settled at 1-1 after 60 minutes, taking the match towards extra time. The Indian hockey team settled for the silver medal once again, repeating 2016 history. Indian team tried its best to secure a maiden Champions Trophy title, but the Australian goalkeeper Tyler Lovell pulled the game away from the Indians with his goalkeeping skills.

In the shootout, only Manpreet Singh managed to score for his team as the Australians brilliantly denied Harmanpreet Singh and Lalit Upadhyay with their performance in the nail-biting match. On the other hand, Zalewski and Daniel Beale converted their efforts into the score, but Matthew Swann and Tom Craig were denied by Indian goalkeeper PR Sreejesh.

ALSO READ: Russia sends Spain crashing out of World Cup, wins 4-3 on penalties

In the last, Jeremy Edwards score helped Australia to win Champions Trophy title in a row. However, Indians gave a tough fight to Australia in the entire 60 minutes, even toppled the defending champions for a better part but their players failed to convert their skills into goals, Australian goalkeeper Lovell played the game like a champion and Indians missed many chances to pierce his defence.

In the 24th minute of the match, Blake Govers converted only penalty corner into a score and Australia took the lead to create pressure. On the other hand, Indians wasted their both back-to-back penalty corners in the first 10 minutes of the match. In the regular time, Vivek Sagar Prasad came to India’s rescue to help his team equalise the score with Australia. In the third-fourth place match, Nederlands beat Argentina 2-0 to secure bronze medal while Belgium secured 5th place after beating Pakistan.

About the author

NewsX Bureau