In a fresh turn of developments, newly elected Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has called an all-party meeting today on the overgoing tussle on Cauvery water dispute. If one looks closely, this water sharing issue between Tamil Nadu and Karnataka has been a major bone of contention between the 2 neighbours. According to a report, the Karnataka will soon discuss its next move after the Centre’s decision to set up the Cauvery Water Management Authority and Cauvery Water Regulation Cauvery. The state has nominated 2 senior officials as its representatives to the Authority and the Committee under protest so as to block any further damages to the state’s interests.

On a closer look, the Centre headed by Narendra Modi had on June 22 formed a 9-member Cauvery Water Management Authority and Cauvery Water Regulation Committee. These groups have consisted of representatives from Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry. Karnataka had not nominated its representatives.

The Karnataka government has been opposing the move to form any sought Board instead they are in favour of forming Cauvery Decision Implementation Committee. CM HD Kumaraswamy had pointed fingers at the Centre for having taken a unilateral decision, hurting the state’s interests.

The Cauvery water sharing has been the source of serious conflict between the 2 states of Tamil and Karnataka. The genesis of this conflict rests in 2 agreements in 1892 and 1924 between the Madras Presidency and Kingdom of Mysore. The river which is 802 kilometres (498 mi) long and has 44,000 km 2 basin provides 425 TMC ft water to Karnataka and 252 TMCft to Tamil Nadu.

Earlier in February 2018, the Supreme Court warned Karnataka of serious consequences if it fails to release the directed amount of water to Tamil Nadu. The judicature posted Tamil Nadu’s petition for framing of scheme and release of Cauvery water as per judgment for hearing on March 2018. In April 2018, India’s top court asked the Centre to frame a draft scheme by May 3, 2018, for the proper implementation of the judgment on the distribution of water.

About the author

Deepti Jain