People’s Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti has dissolved the party’s top decision-making Political Affairs Committee (PAC). The move comes a week ahead of PDP’s 20th foundation day anniversary on July 28. The new body will be reconstituted in the near future.

Though no clear reason has been specified for such a move, sources in the party suggest that it was in the wake of senior party leaders and several MLAs quitting the party.

The leaders who have resigned from the party include Mohammad Khalil Bandh, Altaf Bukhari, Haseeb Drabu, Imran Ansari, Abid Ansari and Abbas Wani (all former MLAs).

About the author

Himakshi Panwar