In a major governor transfer and appointment spree by the Centre, several state governors have been transferred and appointed. Starting with Anandiben Patel, the former Gujarat chief minister has now been appointed as the Governor of Uttar Pradesh. Previously, she was serving as the governor of Madhya Pradesh.

Others to be appointed and transferred include Jagdeep Shankar as West Bengal Governor, Ramesh Bais as Tripura governor who has replaced Kaptan Singh Solanki. While Lal Ji Tandon has succeeded Anandiben Patel as Governor of Madhya Pradesh.

The state of Bihar has Phagu Chauhan as Governor while RN Ravi has been appointed as the Governor of Nagaland. All the appointees will take charge from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices.

The Centre has appointed six new governors in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Nagaland and Tripura. With Anandiben’s appointment, this is the first time that Uttar Pradesh will get a lady governor since its formation in 1950.

About the author

Himakshi Panwar